cover-xmas b format.jpg

AFRAID OF THE CHRISTMAS LIGHTS

Dec 2020

All profits from the sale of this anthology will be donated to frontline domestic abuse charities


“TWISTED, DELICIOUS, DEVIOUS”


From the biggest stars in crime fiction comes an eclectic mix of festive shorts


Perfect for fans of Stephen King and Lee Child


"Twisted, devious, delicious. If you're looking for a mystery in your Christmas stocking, this collection of crime tales from some of our crime-writing greats will be right up your candy-cane lane"—JO SPAIN


“A perfect festive collection of bite-sized crime fiction. I thoroughly enjoyed every last morsel” —JOHN MARRS


“A deliciously dark selection pack of stories you’ll devour. And all in a good cause too!” —SARAH PINBOROUGH


****************************************************************


IT WOULDN’T BE CHRISTMAS WITHOUT A LITTLE CRIME…


A Christmas dinner takes a murderous turn, a friendship group loses the festive spirit, and a young girl goes to extreme measures to keep a beloved dog.


Afraid Of The Christmas Lights is a collection of gripping, sometimes funny, and always festive short stories from a group of bestselling crime writers.


From the hilarious to the macabre, there’s something for everyone – whether you’re a Christmas convert or a bit of a Grinch. From a detective tracking down missing Christmas geese, to a cat lady who goes on a date in order to keep Santa Paws well fed, this anthology is the perfect gift to cosy up with this year.


" This anthology is a bulging stocking full of prize gifts. Funny, tragic, scary and clever- the perfect Christmas present "— LOUISE BEECH


"A wicked slay-ride through the dark days of Winter "— TREVOR WOOD


****************************************************************


CONTRIBUTORS

Afraid Of The Christmas Lights is brought to you by eighteen bestselling crime and thriller writers who between them have topped the Sunday Times and Amazon charts, been Richard and Judy bestsellers, won the Crime Novel of the Year Award, the Bath Novel Award and the UK National Book Awards, had their work made into major television series and been published in over 50 territories worldwide.


Mark Billingham
Rachael Blok
Heather Critchlow
Elle Croft
James Delargy
Clare Empson
Jo Furniss
Sophie Hannah
T.E. Kinsey
N.J. Mackay
S.R. Masters
Val McDermid
Phoebe Morgan
Dominic Nolan
Robert Scragg
Victoria Selman
Kate Simants
Adam Southward
Harriet Tyce


****************************************************************


Profits from Afraid Of The Christmas Lights will support two front-line charities:


ESDAS: Educates professionals, communities, victims and even perpetrators on the nature of domestic abuse. They offer practical measures, such as legal advice and transport, to enable survivors to find a safe place to live.


Rights of Women: Helps women understand their legal rights and access a range of support services to which they are entitled.